Eritrea Conquers African Championship Team Time Trials Again

Sport News

A record 8th consecutive victory

Team Eritrea wins African Championship TTT for 8th time
Eritrea, the undesputed African cycling powerhouse. (Photo: Metkel Eyob)


Africa’s cycling powerhouse Eritrea claims victory in today’s much-anticipated Team Time Trials (TTT) of the 13th African Continental Road Championship that commenced in Rwanda’s capital Kigali.

Winning this edition of the African championship was another great milestone for the Eritrean elite men’s team as it turns out to be their unprecedented record 8th consecutive victory.

Today’s elite men TTT gold medal victory was done by Mekseb Debesay, Metkel Eyob, Amanuel Gebreigzabhier and Simon Mussie.

They faced the 40 km course in just 51’28”.

Team Rwanda and Algeria are forced to settle for Silver and Bronze medals respectively.

Ever since 2010, the Eritrean national team dominates the African Continental Championship competition and yet, no other African national team has managed to upset its absolute dominance.

The women elite category attracted Ethiopia, Eritrea and host Rwanda on the 40 km distance.

For the first time in the category, it was Ethiopia’s turn to grab the Gold medal through Selam Amha, Tsega Beyene, Eyeru Gebre and Eyerusalem Halil.

Eritrea and Rwanda finished second and third in this category.

However, team Eritrea struck another Gold in junior men’s TTT fray.

Only from day one, Team Rwanda won the most number of medals: 2 Gold and 2 Silver. Eritrea followed with 2 Gold and 1 Silver. Algeria has won 1 bronze yet.

A more thrilling action is expected on Thursday when the Individual Time Trial (ITT) staged in all categories.

This year’s event has attracted a total of 167 riders, representing 22 African countries including the giants of Africa such as Eritrea, Algeria, Morocco, South Africa and Ethiopia who are expected to give the hosts Rwanda a hard time in the chase for medals.

Other countries participating in the championship are Nigeria, Swaziland, Seychelles, Namibia, Djibouti, Mauritius, Benin, Kenya, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Zambia, Sudan, Uganda, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, and Burundi.