Four Eritrean Riders Nominated for 2015 Best African Cyclist Award

News Sport
Best African Cyclist 2015 nominees
Organizers of the Tropicale Amissa Bongo have listed 20 nominees, including four Eritrean riders, for the Best African Cyclist title for 2015. Do you have any favorite for 2015?

By TesfaNews,

The organizers of the Tropicale Amissa Bongo have published the list of 20 nominees for the Best African Cyclist title for 2015.

Accordingly, Eritrea has the largest nomination with 4 riders namely Natnael Berhane, Mekseb Debesay, Merhawi Kudus and Daniel Teklehaimanot.

South Africa, Rwanda, Algeria and Morocco are nominated each with 3 riders, while Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Ethiopia and Tunisia each by one rider.

The Best African Cyclist of the year trophy was created first in 2012 to reward riders for their results on the continent and in the rest of world and to make African cycling more popular. Eritrean cyclist Natnael Berhane was the first rider voted for the Best African Cyclist title in 2012.

The following year, South African Louis Meintjes voted Africa’s Best Cyclist and Eritrean Mekseb Debesay in 2014.

The jury, chaired by Bernard Hinault, five-time winner of the Tour de France, and made up of sports leaders, coaches, managers, African and European journalists will, therefore, vote to succeed the 2014 Best African Cyclist Eritrean Mekseb Debesay.

The results will be announced on December 17.

The following are the 20 riders competing for the prize:

4 Eritreans

BERHANE Natnael (MTN-Qhubeka)
DEBESAY Mekseb (Bike Aid)
KUDUS Merhawi (MTN-Qhubeka)

3 Algerians

BARBARI Adil (Centre Mondial UCI)
BELMOKHTAR Abdelkader (Groupement Sportif Pétrolier)
REGUIGI Youcef (MTN-Qhubeka)

3 Moroccans

HADDI Soufiane (Skydive Dubaï)
LAHSAINI Mouhssine
MRAOUNI Salaheddine

3 Rwandans

NDAYISENGA Valens (Centre Mondial UCI)

3 South Africans

IMPEY Daryl (Orica-GreenEdge)
MEINTJES Louis (MTN-Qhubeka)

1 Burkina Faso




1 Ethiopian

GRMAY Tsgabu (Lampre-Merida)

1 Tunisian

CHTIOUI Rafaa (Skydive Dubaï)