Luxembourg Foreign Minister Jean Asselborn off to Ethiopia, Eritrea

News Politics
Luxembourg Minister of Foreign and European Affairs, Immigration and Asylum, Jean Asselborn, will visit Ethiopia and Eritrea
The visit to the two African countries stands in an historical context since both countries are on course for a political rapprochement after years of conflict.


Luxembourg Minister of Foreign and European Affairs, Immigration and Asylum, Jean Asselborn, will undertake a working visit to Ethiopia and Eritrea from 11-14 February 2019.

At the invitation of the Foreign Ministers of Ethiopia, Workneh Gebeyehu, and Eritrea’s, Osman Saleh Mohammed, Minister Asselborn will travel today to the Ethiopian capital Addis Ababa, where he will be received by the President of the Republic, Sahle-Work Zewde, before meeting his Ethiopian counterpart.

On 14 February, Jean Asselborn will then meet Foreign Minister Osman Saleh Mohammed in Asmara, capital of Eritrea.

The visit of Minister Asselborn comes in the context of the historical rapprochement between Ethiopia and Eritrea, which promotes a positive dynamic for the entire Horn of Africa region.

>> ALSO READ: EU Allocates €20m to Reconnect Eritrean Ports with Ethiopia Border

The exchanges of views with the Ethiopian and Eritrean authorities will enable an evaluation of the latest developments in these two countries as well as regional current affairs.

Discussions will also focus on a number of bilateral issues of common interest as well as the migratory situation in the region.

Minister Asselborn will travel to northern Ethiopia region of Tigray, bordering Eritrea, to see the situation first-hand, in the registration and reception centres and in the refugee camps.

Finally, while the African Union Summit is taking place in Addis Ababa, Minister Asselborn will take the opportunity to meet the President of the African Union Commission, Moussa Faki Mahamat, with whom he shall discuss the latest developments in Africa, in light of the discussions of the Heads of State and Government of African countries.