Mekseb Debesay Wins First Stage of Tour of Rwanda

News Sport
Eritrea's rising star Mekseb Debesay becomes the winner of first stage of Tour of Rwanda. Currently he rides for team Bike Aid
Eritrea’s rising star Mekseb Debesay becomes the winner of first stage of Tour of Rwanda. Currently he rides for the German Team Bike Aid

By Capital Eritrea,

ERITREA’s Mekseb Debesay won the first stage of the sixth edition of the Tour of Rwanda on the 96.4 km course from Kigali to Ngoma.

Rwanda’s Janvier Hadi grabbed the yellow jersey after winning yesterday’s prologue race and will keep it – as he finished a few seconds behind Eritrean Mekseb Debesay in today’s race.

This year’s Tour of Rwanda includes fourteen teams and more than 60 cyclists competing over a period of eight days in the heart of Africa.

Eritrean cyclists have been among the favorites from the beginning – quoting the Rwandan press it read, “Rwandan Cyclists will face stiff challenge from Africa’s top cyclists like Mouhssine Lahsaini from Morocco and Eritrea’s Mekseb Debesay and Eyob Metkel among others. “

The Tour of Rwanda, which is organized by Rwanda Cycling Federation, was first held in 1988 before it became part of the UCI Africa Tour category 2.2 five years ago.

Last year’s edition was won by South Africa after Dylan Girdlestone while Rwanda’s Valens Ndayisenga won the most promising rider accolade following his 11th place finish.

– – – –

Eight Eritrean Cyclists Score Encouraging Rank in Toure de Rwanda

By Shabait,

(Asmara, 17 November 2014) – Reports indicated that a total of 8 Eritrean cyclists have scored encouraging rank in Toure de Rwanda concluding competition among the  first 20 in the opening competition of the Tour.

In the course of the competition conducted in Kigali Stadium, Eritrean cyclists  Mekseb Debesay, Elias Yemane, Amanuel Gerezgiher, Aron Debretsion, Dawit Haile, Million Amanuel, Bereket Yemane and Solomon Habte ranked 7th , 10th , 11th , 12th , 15th ,16th , 19th and 20th respectively.

Besides, cyclists Berhane Melake, Mehari Tesfatsion and Yohannes Wolderufael scored the 33rd, 44th and 49th ranks.