South Sudan Fails to Form Unity Government

South Sudan’s warring parties failed to form a transitional government by the Friday deadline set by the Joint Monitoring and Evaluation Commission (JMEC), which is overseeing implementation of the peace deal.

By VOA News,

South Sudan’s President Salva Kiir and his former vice president and rebel leader Riek Machar failed to form a unity transitional government Saturday, which was a key demand in a peace accord signed in Ethiopia to end the country’s conflict.

The rebels, or the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement in Opposition (SPLM/IO), refused to send the names of their proposed ministers to be included in the yet to be formed administration. They also accused Kiir of unilaterally establishing 28 new states, which they said violates the terms of the agreement. 

Botswana’s former president Festus Mogae, who heads the Joint Monitoring and Evaluation Commission (JMEC), tasked with implementing the agreement, warned that the establishment of the 28 states could hinder the implementation of the deal.

Ateny Wek Ateny, spokesman for President Kiir said the government in Juba was not to blame. He said Kiir is unlikely to change his mind on the 28 states, since he said a majority of South Sudanese supported the move.

“It was unfortunate that the national transitional government was not formed yesterday in accordance with the JMEC timetable because the SPLM/IO [rebels] did not submit the list of those who were designated for ministerial positions. So the president cannot appoint an empty seat,” said Ateny.

“The issue of the 28 states is now the issue of South Sudan so the president is not ready to rescind the order. If the SPLM/IO become adamant that they wanted to only implement peace agreement on the basis of only 10 states, then that would be unthinkable, unless they accept the 28 states. Because they themselves divided South Sudan into 21 states, President Salva Kiir only added 7 states to become 28 states.”

The rebels said it appeared the government in Juba was disinterested in the full implementation of the agreement since Kiir was unwilling to change his mind on the 28 states.

Fragile peace

Critics warn the disagreement could undermine the fragile peace in the country after over 20 months of conflict which left hundreds of thousands of civilians displaced from their homes.

Critics said the government was demonstrating bad faith and undermining the agreement President Kiir signed to end the conflict.

Ateny disagreed. He said it was the responsibility of the government in Juba and the SPLM/IO to ensure the country was peaceful as demanded by South Sudanese.

“It is the rebels who are doing this as a scape goat for them since they have seen the international community represented by the JMEC [has] also said the establishment of the 28 states will be an impediment to the implementation of the agreement. The rebels want to replicate the same position, but the truth of the matter is that… The best thing for us is to bring peace to the people of South Sudan and not to dwell on the issues of 28 states,” said Ateny.

President Kiir’s 28 States are Obstacle to Peace in South Sudan: Troika

By Sudan Tribune,

A joint statement issued by the Troika member countries including the United States, United Kingdom and Norway, has blamed President Salva Kiir’s government for insisting on the 28 states it created outside the peace agreement, saying this has become an “obstacle to peace” in the young country.

The trio countries expressed what they called “deep concern” after the parties to the peace deal signed in August 2015 failed to form a transitional government of national unity (TGoNU) on 22 January as earlier scheduled due to the outstanding issues including fate of the 28 states.

“The Members of the Troika (United States, United Kingdom, and Norway) express their deep concern at delays in forming the Transitional Government of National Unity, which was due to be completed today [22 January],” reads the statement extended to Sudan Tribune from Washington.

“The Presidential Decree establishing 28 states has created an obstacle to consensus,” the statement observed.

It said the implementation of the other provisions of the peace agreement including reviving the economy and implementing critical reforms in the country depended on the formation of the transitional government.

The statement however fell short of calling on President Kiir’s government to reverse the decision on the 28 states as a violation of the peace agreement, but rather called it an obstacle which the parties could resolve.

“We urge all parties to make immediate efforts to resolve this impasse and to form the transitional government as soon as possible. It is time for leaders on all sides to put aside partisan bickering and prioritize the interests of the South Sudanese people,” Troika further urged.

Troika countries participated in the mediation and sponsoring of the two-year old peace talks between the parties including the government, the armed opposition led by former vice president, Riek Machar, former detainees led by Pagan Amum and other political parties and stakeholders in the country.

The peace agreement, directly mediated by the East African regional block, the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), was signed based on the existing 10 states. However the government after signing the agreement unilaterally dismantled the 10 states and created new 28 states, saying it responded to the demand of the people.

The armed opposition faction of the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM-IO) and other opposition parties said they will not recognize the new 28 states and will abide by the peace agreement which has maintained 10 states.

President Kiir in his recent comments said he will not reverse his decision creating the 28 states, saying this was a “red line.”